The Office of Emergency Management (OEM), a division of the Department of Public Safety, has the primary responsibility of the emergency management function at Kennesaw State.  Emergency management is divided into four core functions or phases: Mitigation, Preparedness, Response, and Recovery.  Each phase makes up an integral aspect of the overall Emergency Management System.  The four phases are generally represented as a cycle.  For more information, click on the mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery links.

The Kennesaw State University Office of Emergency Management adheres to the concept of best practices, which allows for constant innovation based upon the successes and failures of other emergency management programs nationwide and around the world.

KSU OEM has an emergency management coordinator located on each campus.  In addition to the traditional emergency management functions, KSU OEM is the lead department for a variety of other initiatives and programs, including the  Unmanned Aerial Systems (UAS) policy, Stop the Bleed initiative, and AED program management.  KSU OEM trains and works closely with the approximate 215 volunteer crisis coordinators spread out over all campus locations.

You can contact the Office of Emergency Management at 470-578-6985 or by email at


Campus Advisory

Normal Operations

Click here to go to Office of Emergency Management
Last Status Update January 18, 2022 at 12:45 pm